Running macOS on Virtualbox with Windows 10

Last edited: Apr 06, 2022

If you have ever wanted to give macOS a try but didn't have access to Apple hardware or just need to run an app quickly, there is a super neat script written by Jack here at https://github.com/myspaghetti that will enable you to install macOS without installing any paid tools or without downloading an untrusted image from somewhere online. I tried it and was pleasantly surprised by the performance and ease of install. I have not been able to fix iMessage but I have been told that some people have gotten it working by running the script on genuine mac and moving over the .vdi

Installation Steps:

Image of cygwin Settings

Results:

Performance is pretty snappy. I was not able to get audio working but as a quick way to test an app for development or to try out macOS I think this was a great success.

Image of cygwin Settings